Selenium and Firefox Problems

I just did a software update on my Ubuntu 14.04 development machine. That update included updating Firefox to 47.0. This caused my tests to fail with the message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
 File "/home/chuck/sqdb/django_fuller_calendar/django_fuller_calendar/tests/tests_selenium.py", line 23, in setUp
 self.browser = webdriver.Firefox()
 File "/home/chuck/.virtualenvs/dfc/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/selenium/webdriver/firefox/webdriver.py", line 81, in __init__
 self.binary, timeout)
 File "/home/chuck/.virtualenvs/dfc/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/selenium/webdriver/firefox/extension_connection.py", line 51, in __init__
 self.binary.launch_browser(self.profile, timeout=timeout)
 File "/home/chuck/.virtualenvs/dfc/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/selenium/webdriver/firefox/firefox_binary.py", line 68, in launch_browser
 self._wait_until_connectable(timeout=timeout)
 File "/home/chuck/.virtualenvs/dfc/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/selenium/webdriver/firefox/firefox_binary.py", line 98, in _wait_until_connectable
 raise WebDriverException("The browser appears to have exited "
WebDriverException: Message: The browser appears to have exited before we could connect. If you specified a log_file in the FirefoxBinary constructor, check it for details.

I am using selenium 2.53.5.

After extensive googling, the most useful page was: https://github.com/SeleniumHQ/selenium/issues/2110

On that page, this comment was most useful:

I strongly suggest people move over to Marionette

Following the instructions on that page, I was able to get the python demo code on the bottom of that page to work. I needed to change the name of the file to “wires” as mentioned in the text. Putting the file in /usr/bin made it available everywhere I need it.

I should mention that my selenium tests are now failing because I am using the command:

action.move_to_element_with_offset

Earlier today, I tried switching to the Chromium browser. It failed on the same command.

Rolling Back Firefox

The solution above did not work for me because I could not find a work-around for the “move_to” commands. So I rolled back Firefox as a temporary solution. I used the instructions found here: http://askubuntu.com/questions/661186/how-to-install-previous-firefox-version  I was able to find the version I wanted here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/ubuntuzilla/files/mozilla/apt/pool/main/f/firefox-mozilla-build/

 

Leave a Reply

