Django Calendarium App

Calendarium is an established app for adding calendars to Django. The docs are sparse. These are my notes as I explore this app. First follow the install.

Now if you go to the the URL: /calendar you will be redirected to /calendar/YEAR/MONTH/ which is a calendar view for the current month. In my case, I saw my base template, but no calendar. Many of the Calendarium templates load “base.html” and render their content into a block called “main”. There probably is a more elegant way to do this, but I solved the problem by adding a “main” block to my base template. With that change, the calendar now appears.

Screenshot from 2016-01-05 12:48:24

It’s missing the css. If you look in the base.html file of Calendarium, you will see that you will need to add:

<link rel="stylesheet" href="{% static "calendarium/css/calendar.css" %}">

to your base template. You will also need to add:

{% load i18n calendarium_tags %}

After poking around some more, I decided Calendarium is not polished enough for my needs. There were problems with some page layout. And it could use some javascript widgets for date picking, etc… This is not to say the app is bad. It’s just that the alternatives, such as syncing with google calendars, are more suited for my current project.

I am confident that I can sync with google and I know my users are familiar with google.

3 thoughts on “Django Calendarium App

    • I abandoned Calendarium a long time ago. I investigated a bunch of calendar apps. In the end I settled on writing custom Django code to work with Fullcalendar. I plan on releasing my code as an open source Django app sometime in the next month. Eventually that app will work with google calendars. I am not sure when I will find the time to make that happen.

      The Fullcalendar code supports integration with google calendars. However for security reasons it only supports public calendars.

      As for integrating with google calendars, that’s more of a python issue than Django or the javascript calendar. The google docs are pretty good. Here is one useful link: google docs link

Leave a Reply

