PyCharm, Django Dev Server and “password authentication failed for user”

This stuff drives me crazy. I was cruising along, run the Django dev server from the command line. Everything was working well. Then I decided to do some debugging, so I configured the PyCharm Django dev server and got this error:

django.db.utils.OperationalError: FATAL:  password authentication failed

Huh? It was just working. Here’s what was happening. I should mention I was using PostgreSQL. In my local settings file I have:

DATABASES = {
    'default': {
        'ENGINE': 'django.db.backends.postgresql_psycopg2',
        'NAME': DB_NAME,
        'USER': 'roi_erp',
        'PASSWORD': os.environ.get('LOCAL_DB_PASSWORD', get_secrets('DB_PASSWORD')),
        'HOST': os.environ.get('POSTGRESQL_HOST', 'localhost'),
        'PORT': '',
    }
}

First I try to get the DB password from a local environmental variable. If that fails, I look in my project secrets file. My local .pgpass has the LOCAL_DB_PASSWORD, but not the one in secrets. When I ran from the command line, LOCAL_DB_PASSWORD was defined. When I ran from PyCharm, it wasn’t, hence the error message. To solve the problem, I set LOCAL_DB_PASSWORD in PyCharm.

Maybe I should just make the python settings code fail if LOCAL_DB_PASSWORD.

2 thoughts on “PyCharm, Django Dev Server and “password authentication failed for user”

  1. Hey Chuck, what’s that “get_secrets” function look like? Are you reading in from a local file not in version control? I’m not using PyCharm right now, but I’m always curious about different/better ways to handle settings and secrets.

    • Hi Pierce, I use the JSON method discussed in 2-Scoops of Django. The secrets file is not in version control. It is automatically generated where ever it is needed by Ansible. The contents of the file are pulled from Ansible vault.

Leave a Reply

